The Gratitude Challenge

Standard

231625731_32865d1061_oThere has been a trend going around Facebook where people nominate each other to do the Gratitude Challenge. It was very popular a month or so ago but at the moment it is pretty quiet. There were some variations on the challenge but the basic premise was for five days to post three items that you are grateful for and then to nominate three more people each day.

I only nominated one person each day as my friends list isn’t huge and I don’t like nominating people for the sake of filling a quota so I adapted the Gratitude Challenge to my own needs and comfort level. I also didn’t limit myself to three items per day. If some days I felt like adding more I did.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a challenge I very much enjoyed as it didn’t involve calling anyone out to do something crazy or to shame anyone or to give money, and the idea didn’t get so diluted from being passed around that the original intent was lost. A gratitude challenge is exactly what it sounds like, a challenge that gets you to look at your life and see everything you have to be grateful for. In a society that never seems happy with what they have it’s good to challenge ourselves to see past our complaints and our often long lists of wants and acknowledge all the good stuff already in our lives, as well as to thank the people we often forget to thank in our fast paced lives.

As North Americans and other advanced societies in general we’ve come to see the state of wanting as normal. No matter how much we have, how big our houses are, how much stuff we cram in them, how new or advanced our technology is, we always want more. Even more mentally debilitating we refer to our wants as needs so they become something we must have instead of something we would like to have but could live without. As a result we base our merit as human beings on our ability to obtain these “needed” items.

The dilemma that arises is we never have enough and when we tie our worth to wants and needs that can never be fulfilled we as individuals also become never enough. The truth is we are all enough. The price tags society affixes to our worth are illusions. If money ceased to have any value, we’d all still be of value to the universe. The currency of the universe is energy.

How often do we say, if only we had more money…. But would more money make any real difference? What if we said instead, if only we had more energy? Many of us do say that but I’m not talking about more energy to get through a grinding work week or force ourselves out of bed to fit into a mold society prepares for us just so we can pay the bills and buy more of our wants which in turn keeps the grinding wheels of our society turning. The energy of the universe is innately empowering and a first step to claiming that energy is accepting we are enough and we have inside of us everything we need to be what we feel called to be.

The next step to claiming that energy and owning ourselves is gratitude. Don’t wait to be nominated for a Gratitude Challenge, take the time to be grateful every day. Breathe in love, exhale gratitude. Exhale love, breathe in gratitude. That’s the real cycle of living that matters.

8720391539_f66030f779_o

I am challenging all my readers, friends, family who read my work to start your own Gratitude Challenge. Make up whatever rules work for you, challenge others to do the same and let go of the needs that are only wants and see how blessed and beautiful and wonderful life is. Even on the darkest day there are rays of gratitude to be found and when you find your center and realize you have all you need, that will radiate out into the world and infect others.

This is the revolution the world needs and it starts with each and every one of us.

Here’s my Gratitude Challenge for today.

1) I am grateful for my mother. She is my rock and my foundation. She is there when I need her, even when I don’t feel deserving of her care.

2) I am grateful for my husband who is willing to get on an airplane and fly across the Atlantic Ocean for the purpose of working on our relationship.

3) I am grateful to the energy workers I have met and am meeting in my life who are showing me new ways to find peace and healing energy and who are encouraging me as I start my path towards being an energy worker as well.

4) I am grateful for having found the Sacred Living movement and being able to integrate it into my life’s work.

5) I am grateful for all those who read and share my blog. I write for me but I also write to connect with you.

If you follow my Facebook page or my twitter account, I will start randomly posting Gratitude Challenge updates and you are welcome to share them and carry them into your own lives and use them to find your own center of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

