BUT….

Standard

4234598818_5d7773c11e_oWhy don’t you say “I love you” anymore?

Are the words too heavy?

Too scary to say

when there’s too much anger inside?

When what you really want to say is

“I love you but….”

But, three letters, so powerful,

too powerful,

more powerful than love’s four letters.

BUT I want you to change.

BUT I want you to let go of your oldest child.

BUT you need to change or

I won’t love you anymore.

BUT you are too weak.

BUT your ideas are too strange,

I don’t understand them.

BUT I can’t follow where you are going.

BUT I can’t let you go where you want to go.

BUT you give too much,

you must give less,

think of us (me?) first.

BUT love is not enough.

Why can’t love be enough?

Why can’t love’s four letters

be stronger than but’s three?

Where’s faith? Where’s hope?

Is BUT stronger than those too?

How can that be…

I’m searching for an answer.

I want to hear the words.

I want to say the words

without the silencing effect

of those powerful three letters

Because you’re not good enough

Until you change

To be loved unconditionally.

That’s what BUT means.

Can you, can I, can we

let go of that word

to accept, to embrace,

to nurture what is

instead of what we want

or wish could be?

2 thoughts on “BUT….

Leave a Reply

